Beginner web dev - CLJ server vs CLJS client - where to put the app's brain

Hi,

I’m very new to web development. I’ve built a small app at work with a back end database managed in Clojure, and a front end in Clojurescript. It’s by and large an event monitoring and logging application.

Given how easy it is to deal with data in CLJS, I’ve ended up doing most of the work on the front-end. That is, the db is built on the server, events are monitored on the server, but then the whole raw db is sent to the front end and every calculation (cleaning data, filtering, grouping, etc) is done in the front end.

From my little experience of GUI and MVC programming this feels wrong - I would have expected the server to do all the computations and the front end to just make requests and visualisations. What are the pitfalls of my current process? When does it break? At the moment the db could fit in ~50MB CSV file but that will grow.

Thank you!

1 Like

Sending the whole DB to the front end is a bad idea for several reasons.

1. whether you display it on the page or not, all that data is available to a savvy visitor, which could make security compromises.

2. The payload will be unsustainably large. It’s better to send just what is needed to the front.

3. Backend is a better place for calculations because the client (ie the browser) has many limitations for processing.

In general, you should try to only send to the front what is needed for the user experience and nothing more.

3 Likes

I had the same approach as you for my latest project. But the client gets only a fraction of data on page load, and the rest of data gets loaded on demand.

Given that Clojure allows for platform independent code via cljc files, you can have the logic present both on client and server. Same for markup. So the client is basically a server with only a part of the data.

2 Likes

it feels like you could use a bit of GraphQL if your architecture allows it

1 Like