Making my way through `shadow-cljs` and `reagent` - asking for opinion

Dear community,

I’ve recently posted few questions on this forum and received kind answers. Thank you for that! What I wanted to ask you right now is some kind of „early-stage diagnosis” for anything especially wrong with how I understand shadow-cljs and reagent should be used together in order to help me catch any bad behaviors (and I do expect them, as I am completely new to both ClojureScript and Reagent, although having experience in other Lisps).

That’s the sample page with shadow-cljs, reagent, secretary and accountant.

(Of course the content is completely dumb placeholder, I was just lurking around)

I am not convinced if request like that is appropriate here or not - I really apologize if this is going to be unkind or against some rules. If not - I am waiting for all the criticism at this very first step.

Thank you!

1 Like

shadow-cljs side of things looks good. I’m not a reagent expert either but looks good to me too.

Don’t think there is right or wrong. But most of the reagent apps will use one big atom for app-state, and use cond or defmulti for routing?

one big atom is because “single source of truth” is simpler model, the ui is just a reflection of the data structure. the only exception is the component internal state (e.g. animation?).

the use of cond or defmulti seems easier to reason, since the ui component will not get mixed up with the routings.

So we are talking about two separate problems:

1. Using one system (referencing to reloaded workflow) or app-state atom as a map instead of multiple ones. In my case this is counter atom and some-list atom for two separate pages.
  2. Routing is relying on „mutable” state of one content atom.

ad 1)

I am not convinced here - with separate atoms updates might end up more complicated because I will have to modify only one key of app-state, like:

(defn increase-counter
  [state]