Qns on Developer Roadmaps + Recommended projects for learning

Hi good folks on Clojureverse,

I had two questions on my self-learning journey to ask.

1. is there a recommended Clojure developer roadmap of sorts? Kinda like this for Golang here, but a Clojure version?

2. Has anyone ever encountered list(s) of recommended projects that one should build in order to learn particular programming or computing concepts, in increasing complexity & dfificulty? E.g. (I’m making stuff up)
    “Make a to-do list => learn front-end UI stuff, also back-end database persistence.
    Next, make a multi-blogging platform =>…” etc.

1 Like

When I started learning Clojure, I made the decision to force myself to use Clojure for all my programming and automation tasks.

Basically a variation of the Total Immersion strategy for learning a new language.

That means:

• If there was a common web browsing task I did, I automated it with Clojure (see etaoin).
  • For services I was using regularly (for example, I use YNAB for budgeting, Vultr for hosting, Reddit for browsing, Wordpress, Cloudflare), I checked if there was an API, and then worked out how to access the API in Clojure (see clj-http).
  • If I couldn’t find an API for a website or service I used regularly, I used etaoin and played around with it until I could get the information I wanted (for example, Amazon, my bank)
  • Anytime I would normally reach for writing a bash or python script, I rather forced myself to use the Clojure repl via a scratch.clj file.
  • Anytime I would normally reach for a calculator, I rather forced myself to use Clojure.
  • Same for Excel - if there was a task that I would normally use Excel for, and I didn’t need to share the resulting sheet, I rather did the calculation in Clojure instead
  • If there was a task I needed to do regularly for work, like generate a report, I figured out how to do that in Clojure instead