Say hello to Clerk: In-page navigation for Single-Page Applications

I have just released a tiny library that manages scroll positioning for ClojureScript SPAs. I call it Clerk.

It solves a problem with Single Page Applications that want to behave like ”regular” sites do, i.e. what the user perceives as new pages are just content changing in the current page and without attention to this the scroll position will remain when navigating to new ”pages”:

or strange things will happen when navigating the browser history within the SPA.

The core design of Clerk is tried and tested in the project I work on for a living. Even if the API and packaging is freshly made and you can expect some bugs in this first release. I would love me some feedback!

Note that if you want to try out Clerk’s support for navigation to in-page anchor targets you should not use Secretary, because it does not really support it. Bidi does, however, so you can try it out with that.

EDIT: Online demo here: https://clerk-demo.netlify.com/

5 Likes

This is extremely useful and the first library I’ve seen in ClojureScript OR Javascript that aims to tackle this problem on its own. Thanks!

2 Likes

This is very good!

Did you consider dropping the reagent- and rum-specific code from the main namespace, and just documenting in the Readme, or in some code examples, how to use Clerk with various front-ends?

1 Like

I did consider that. Still considering, It started with that the Reagent after render seemed a bit involved for the user of Clerk, so it seemed worth it to help with that and since I use Rum myself also make that mixin. But then I remembered that reagent/after-render function and I think maybe the lifecycle map is not really needed, or at least could be mentioned in some usage doc somewhere instead of living in Clerk core. And the Rum mixin is rather unnecessary.