2 years of Clojure, and it still isn't clicking. What am I doing wrong?

So I’ve been using Clojure professionally for about 2 years, and played around with it quite a bit before, but I still haven’t had it click where it is intuitive and incredible to work with like everyone always talks about, even co workers. What am I doing wrong, or what can I do, or what should I do? To be honest i’m lost, and I am an experienced senior dev.

Thank you.

2 Likes

Not enough context to provide useful advice IMO (at least not tailored advice). Need to know what you are doing to try to inform what you may be doing wrong… Sample repos / code you can share, delimited repetitive pain points, and things you have tried (or failed with) would be helpful. Prior language background also helps compare/contrast experiences.

1 Like

I’m curious about your workflow and use of the REPL, as well as how proficient you feel with what proportion of the standard library.

It’s a large re-frame application, and in the past years I’ve used Javascript, Typescript, Python, Java, Lua, Go, quite a few.

It’s still not enough. Given that little bit of context, the only specific thing I can ask is whether you have read the whole re-frame and perhaps Reagent documentation.

But there are also some generic questions:

• What do you struggle with the most when working with Clojure[Script]?
  • What do you dislike the most in the language or its ecosystem?
  • Have you tried pair programming with your coworkers that seem to like Clojure? Or maybe with other people that definitely like it?
  • Have you tried creating a web app from scratch?
2 Likes

I would say I mostly have trouble with reading and understanding Clojure code quickly, coming up with Clojure idiomatic solutions, and editing it. I use neovim.

I have created many web apps from scratch with it and watched others as well.

Do you know the standard library well enough so you don’t have to look most things up?