Beginner stuck with timers and JavaFX/Fn-Fx

I’m kinda new to Clojure and I’ve been trying to maker a simple little timelapse video GUI. I’ve sorta learned that Clojure is kinda poorly suited for this b/c there is no “native” way to make GUIs or access cameras… but I’m trying to push through and not fall back on my usual C++. The GUI is using fn-fx and I really like the way you end up describing your GUI in a datastructure. It’s a very nice reoccuring pattern I’m seeing in Clojure (also saw this in geom-viz ). Next I managed to hook up origami to get camera frames through OpenCV (the author was very helpful working through some problem there… b/c it’s a bit of a messy tie-in to some native precompiled binaries)

But the next part is fetching frames at a regularly interval and I just can’t figure out :(. The JavaFX Timer event in fn-fx itself is broken… maybe? and I don’t really know enough Java to figure out how to “inject” the right code for it to work

I’ve spent a few weeks on this on and off, but I’m not really sure where to find help at this point. The library seems dead so my issue on its github has no activity :frowning:

I tried to add an external event using at-at but that doesn’t trigger the event properly (or I’m doing it wrong). In the fn-fx example it seems like it should go some place here they initialize the event handler - but the code is very hard for me to parse:

(defn -main []
  (let [;; Data State holds the business logic of our app
        data-state (atom {:authed? false})

;; handler-fn handles events from the ui and updates the data state
        handler-fn (fn [{:keys [event] :as all-data}]
                     (println "UI Event" event all-data)
                     (case event
                       :auth (swap! data-state assoc :authed? true)
                       (println "Unknown UI event" event all-data)))

;; ui-state holds the most recent state of the ui
        ui-state (agent (dom/app (stage @data-state) handler-fn))]