Cider Stacktrace "No Source Location"

Hello all,

I’m a Clojure noob making my way through “Clojure for the Brave and True”, and started out using the emacs / leiningen / cider configuration as found in that book, on Windows. It used an earlier cider version which I have upgraded to the latest stable version 0.15.1.

Since the upgrade, the stack traces no longer allow jumping to the clojure or java source code, any attempt to select the source code returns either the error “Searching for program: no such file or directory, unzip” or “No source location”.

This is hardly a critical matter at my meager level of Clojure learning, but it’s bugging the hell out of me. It was working before I fooled about with it (I think it was cider 0.8.0 originally. I’ve looked into all sorts of things like java classpaths, leiningen reinstallation etc, but to no avail. I’d love to understand what is / isn’t going on with the tooling.

Has anyone any experience in this matter, or can point me in the right direction?

(It seems to have something to do with cider–jump-to-location-from-info)

You’re totally right to be bugged by this. This is critical functionality to a smooth Clojure workflow!

What’s in your Lein profile? (at ~/.lein/profiles.clj) I ask because the install process for old versions of CIDER required a lot of extra stuff there, which new versions do not, and I wonder if something could cause a conflict.

Also consider posting either a GitHub issue or on the cider channel on Clojurians, which seems fairly active with the maintainers.

Thanks very much for the reply Dave,

My Lein profile is just

{:user {
:java-cmd “C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.8.0_152\bin\java.exe”
}}

I had a reference to the nrepl version, but removed it as CIDER was complaining. I have tried removing this line, but that didn’t help.

I suspect this is some sort of dumb noob type problem, just wish I knew exactly what sort of dumb noob problem :slightly_smiling_face:

One error is understandable