Clojure/Clojurescript and Vim: A beginner's perspective

Hi all,

I’m quite new to Clojure, and I’ve been working on a side project in figwheel on and off for a few months. The bulk of my project is in ClojureScript. When I was working by myself, I had trouble setting up my ClojureScript repl to work with vim-fireplace. Even with help from @plexus we had a lot of trouble trying to get Vim, vim-fireplace, and Piggieback working together. Most of the open GitHub issues addressing these problems were many years old. I had some luck running a ClojureScript repl in another terminal window, but it was definitely a hindrance keep switching windows around and I felt like I was missing out on a lot of great development tools.

I eventually gave up, and I’m now using Spacemacs. Switching editors works for me right now, but it seems pretty cumbersome for someone who spent years working on their Vim configuration and just wants to try out ClojureScript.

I’m a lurker in Clojureverse and a Clojure newbie, but there seems to be a lot of discussion about building community and fostering growth in the Clojure community. I think more public support of Vim (documentation, more public discussion here) would definitely help Vim users who are curious about Clojure feel more comfortable learning the language. Vim users - what is your Clojure workflow like? Have you also run into issues using Piggieback and Vim fireplace?

3 Likes

I’m mostly happy using vim with vim-fireplace for Clojure development. I’ve actually never quite gotten a nice setup for ClojureScript though. I think it’s possible to tell fireplace that you’d like to connect to the ClojureScript repl by using some fireplace command referring to the nrepl port. I vaguely recall that I might have gotten that far once, but couldn’t figure out how to make it more automatic or preserve the regular Clojure connection. Perhaps this is something vim-fireplace needs to grow towards?

1 Like

Hello,