Clojure Mount

I am a newbie to Clojure. I am finding a hard time to understand when and why mount lib is required. I have seen many places where mount/component lib is used.

Thank you.

Do you mean GitHub - tolitius/mount: managing Clojure and ClojureScript app state since (reset) ?
If so, you might want to consider component GitHub - stuartsierra/component: Managed lifecycle of stateful objects in Clojure instead (to begin with) as it is much easier to understand and work with. For a use case, take a look at Sean Corfield’s UserManager example at GitHub - seancorfield/usermanager-example: A little demo web app in Clojure, using Component, Ring, Compojure, Selmer (and a database)

As to when / why … component (and mount, and integrant) are small libraries that provide a way to manage global state in a clean way within a functional language with immutable data structures. Component provides lifecycle methods (e.g., start/stop) to manage the stateful parts of your program. So, once your program is big enough to need global state (e.g., web server, database connection) you should consider using Component. What Component facilitates is separating the stateful parts and allowing you to control those independently of the stateless (e.g. pure functions) part. Please take a look at the github repo for Component for more details on the usage of the pros/cons. From that page, there is also a link to a YouTube video that may be of some help.

4 Likes

Another point of view (a complementary one) is that if you do not see the need for a thing, then simply do not use that thing.

If you are accustomed to people counseling you to “always start with the Spring Framework” then this might be a new experience!

Don’t reinvent the wheel, of course. The point is, it’s not very hard to retrofit a program later, when you decide to devote more attention to aspects where this-or-that library is useful.

1 Like

I’m going to add a bit of a cautionary tale here…