ClojureScript, macros and type hints

Not sure if this is possible but is there a way to use the ^js type hint in a clojurescript macro? This is using non self hosted clojurescript. So the macro is written in clojure so doesn’t have access to cljs as far as I can tell.

(defmacro texture-for
  "Throws compile time error if k is not a valid sprite key."
  [app k]
  (let [resolved-k (if (symbol? k) @(resolve 'k) k)]
    (assert (sprite-keys resolved-k)
            (str resolved-k " is not a valid sprite key.")))
  (let [k-string (-> k name str)]
    `(let [^js r# (-> ~app .-loader .-resources (aget "resources/spritesheet.json"))]
       (-> r# .-textures (aget ~k-string)))))

The type hint does get added, it just resolves it to the macro namespace so ends up as ^foo/js rather than staying as ^js. Not sure if there’s away round this as I’m new to clojurescript. If I could find a way to keep the type hint as ^js then is might work is my current reasoning? :sweat_smile:

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Easiest way is not using r# but instead creating the symbol with the proper metadata yourself.

For example:

(defmacro texture-for
  [app k]
  (let [k-string (-> k name str)
        r (with-meta (gensym "r") {:tag 'js})]
    `(let [~r (-> ~app .-loader .-resources (aget "resources/spritesheet.json"))]
       (-> ~r .-textures (aget ~k-string)))))

But maybe a better solution is moving the access logic out of the macro completely and writing a helper function to handle that. I’m unsure what the macro does exactly since the resolved-k is thrown away and not actually used.

1 Like

That seems to work! Thanks again. :partying_face:

You’re right. Naive question, but can you reference clojurescript helper functions in a clojure macro? Or would you need to use cljc?