ClojureScript REPL not prompting after printing

Finally giving it a shot to ClojureScript.

Following the Tutorial.

The command

clj --main cljs.main --compile hello-world.core --repl
  1. Does open my browser showing me the Welcome page
  2. Does print Hello World
  3. Does Not promt me the REPL

I tried

clj --main cljs.main

And same result.

In all cases, refreshing the page just prints again “Hello World”. And if I refresh many times quickly I can cause an Exception: java.net.SocketException: Broken pipe (Write failed), that I suppose is an expected behavior.

I honestly don’t know how to troubleshoot this better as I’m just learning it.

What do you think I should review, try, etc.?

Try shadow-cljs please if it’s your first time playing with ClojureScript.

I don’t know how to fix the Broken pipe problem though…

1 Like

Try the following

$ mkdir temp
$ cd temp
$ mkdir -p hello-world/src/hello_world; printf "(ns hello-world.core)\n\n(js/console.log \"hello\")\n" > hello-world/src/hello_world/core.cljs; cd hello-world; clj -Sdeps '{:deps {org.clojure/clojurescript {:mvn/version "1.10.516"}}}' --main cljs.main --compile hello-world.core --repl

At this point Chrome opens, showing “Welcome to the ClojureScript browser REPL”. If for some reason the browser doesn’t open automatically, you can manually open http://localhost:9000 in your favorite browser.

If you switch back to your terminal and wait a few seconds, you should get a REPL prompt. The reason why it takes a little while is that the browser makes a connection back to the server.

At this point you can evaluate expressions:

ClojureScript 1.10.516
cljs.user=> cljs.user=> (+ 2 3)
cljs.user=> (js/console.log "works")
nil

If you type these commands, you should see “works” in the Chrome console.

If the above steps don’t work for you, please provide more information about which step fails and which OS or browser you’re using.

3 Likes