Clojurescript REPL with Cider

Hi, I’m a ClojureScript beginner.

I am trying to start a ClojureScript project and connect to it with Emacs and Cider, using cider-connect. I am having a hard time to put together all the pieces to get that done.

I have been following Andrew Meredith’s book “Learn ClojureScript”. It briefly covers Figwheel, but it’s not really the development cycle I am looking for; this one is more about changing and saving a whole file to see the results, as Figwheel detects changes in the file.

Instead, I would prefer a REPL-based development cycle:

1. Start a ClojureScript session
  2. The web browser is launched pointing at localhost
  3. I connect my Emacs instance to the ClojureScript session with cider-connect
  4. I eval a piece of ClojureScript code in the text editor
  5. The results happen in the browser

How can I achieve this development cycle with ClojureScript and Emacs?

That is what Figwheel lets you do. It connects you to a REPL running inside the browser. It will also re-eval changes to your files, but that’s for your resources, like say you change an HTML file, or the CSS files.

I am looking for a mix of Cider and Figwheel.

If I follow the instructions on figwheel.org, I’ll type clj -m figwheel.main, and soon I have a browser window running a piece of ClojureScript code; if I change the source file, figwheel kicks in and after half a second, the change is reflected on the web page.

On the other hand, if I run cider-jack-in-cljs in Emacs, Emacs will start a clojure process and a Cider session; I can evaluate small snippets of ClojureScript code, but I do not have a web page that I can see results on.

So, how can I get the best of both worlds? I am looking for a REPL so that I can manipulate a web page by evaluating snippets of code, from my text editor.

When you run cider-jack-in-cljs or cider-jack-in-clj&cljs, cider will ask you for the ClojureScript REPL type, looks like this:

Here you should select figwheel-main.