Ctmx - super lightweight web dev

Hi fellow Clojurians! I have been writing Clojure professionally for about 8 years now, and recently came across the https://htmx.org library. It provides an elegant way to build dynamic web apps, so I decided to connect it to a clojure backend and the two go together really nicely.

ctmx provides a ‘component’ macro which expands to both an ordinary function and a REST endpoint (via reitit). It feels quite similar to writing clojurescript, except you are fully on the backend with JVM clojure and no compiled js to load on the frontend. The GitHub repo has a demo project which you can start by cloning and typing lein run.

Feedback and suggestions would be much appreciated.

18 Likes

This looks great, my only feedback would be that the types seem to make no sense for Clojure.

Clojure uses long and double by default, not int and float, so what type does the cast convert the value too?

When you say array I’m assuming you mean vector, but again, I can’t tell what a cast to an array will convert the string too.

Otherwise it’s a cool idea and I’m looking forward to trying it out!

Good suggestion @didibus, I will put that in.

oh this is nice I’ll check it out! I’ve been using clojure+htmx for a while now and it’s such a nice combo. No need to mess around with Cljs to make some SPA-like

Feel free to make feature requests, I’d like to make ctmx more useful for the community.

:man_technologist:I’ll play with it soon and maybe I’ll have some feedback :slight_smile:
The idea of combining the element with its own endpoint in one go sounds good already, which was my biggest nuisance.

When you code you feel like you’re on the frontend, but then you think: “oh great I am on full JVM clojure with sync, threads, access to db etc”. It all just fits together, hard to describe you have to experience it yourself.