Do we have a EDN parser in Nim language?

Nim might be the most elegant language at C-level in syntax. https://nim-lang.org

Do we have an EDN parser in Nim?

Don’t think so. What’s the point though? Nim backend with ClojureScript frontend?

Or Nim as compiler backend for Clojure? I as just thinking. It still could be slow giving that Clojure has so many dynamic features. But how about subset of Clojure in Nim, starting from EDN?

I think Nim using reference counted memory management might make this hard. I feel it would be easier to build a Clojure over Go because of this, though the concurrency primitives would need to adapt to Go’s most likely. But I’m not an expert in memory management or Nim so I may be wrong.

1 Like

More langs that can read/write EDN means more places we can use EDN as transport / tooling / etc. Seems like a good thing to have, regardless of the potential of writing a complete Clojure interpreter/compiler.

1 Like

Ya, I’m all onboard to make EDN the new JSON, but I found Nim a particularly odd starting point, that’s why I had to ask what the use case was for.

Edit: I was also worried a ClojureScript dev might have been tempted to skip over using Clojure + JVM for their backend :yum:

Will this help?

Already read about it. Nim code is extremely shorten among all static typed languages. That’s why I got interested about Nim for running Clojure DSL.

https://hookrace.net/blog/make-a-lisp-in-nim/

I was also worried a ClojureScript dev might have been tempted to skip over using Clojure + JVM for their backend :yum:

Why? Clojure already got various of backends, why feeling it’s worrying?