DSL and passing immutable data

Hi,

I’m a Clojure beginner and trying to learn by implementing a DSL that I have worked on in another language. Part of my motivation for using Clojure is to compare the different approaches of an internal DSL (using Clojure) vs an external DSL (written using tools like Xtext or JetBrains MPS or even via a hand written compiler). Clojure in particular appeals to me because of its emphasis on using generic immutable data structures, and the availabilty of macros to help extend syntax. Plus, Rich Hickey seems pretty smart and persuasive !

So, I’ve had a go at implementing it and the main thing that I’m struggling with is (invisibly) threading the state through all the statements of my DSL. I’ve got some things working, but there are still some issues - but before I continue down this path I’d like to get some opinion on whether I’m going about this the right way or whether I’ve missed the idiomatic Clojure way of doing things.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

I’ll try to briefly describe the DSL I am trying to implement, and how I’m writing it so far.

The basic idea is that the DSL allows rules to be written to process and validate data, eg customer and order information. For example :-

(rule ApplyDiscountIfGoldCustomer
(iff (= (customer :STATUS) :GOLD)
(set-value (order) :TOTAL (* (order :TOTAL) 0.95)))
(log-message "order total amended to " (order :TOTAL))
)

The infrastructure of the system would step through all the data records and apply all the rules - in this particular case, apply the rule to each order record that it comes across.

For users of the DSL it’s implicit that things like (order) and (customer) refer to the current order that is being processed, and the customer who made that order. They shouldn’t have to worry about passing the current data around as arguments to functions - it should be invisible to them.

The DSL for the example above could generate Clojure code something like :-