Emacs figwheel-main, why stdin in the minibuffer?

I’m just starting out trying to use Clojurescript. I finally got Emacs up and working with Cider and figwheel-main. Only took 2 days, I’ll call that a win. I’m doing this on Windows 10, which probably doesn’t help.

Anyway, after I run cider-jack-in-cljs, it creates a cider-repl buffer, opens my project in the browser, and a few seconds later outputs

Compile Exception: c
ClojureScript 1.10.238
cljs.user=>

There is a “Stdin:” prompt in the minibuffer. Anything I type there gets sent to the repl. Typing anything at the repl prompt gets ignored. The problem is that my minibuffer is now taken by the “Stdin:” prompt so if I try to do anything else (open a file, for example), Emacs complains that the minibuffer is already in use. If I C-g to quit the stdin prompt, my project no longer responds to file changes.

I’m assuming the compile exception probably has something to do with it, but have no idea what “Compile Exception: c” means and don’t know why it would hijack the minibuffer.

How do I go about resolving this?

Thanks,
Rich

What version of Cider are you using? I’m on Cider 0.21.0. Whenever I’m running M-x cider-jack-in-cljs, I get a prompt that says: [Select ClojureScript REPL type] to which I write figwheel-main, after that I get another prompt that asks asks [Select figwheel-main build...], to which I enter dev.

Maybe you’re skipping some of these steps?

I’m using Cider 0.21.0. It does ask me for the REPL type and build, which I put as figwheel-main and dev. I noticed today that when it does this, Cider doesn’t think it’s connected so I don’t get any of the Cider benefits.

I may end up abandoning this path. Just to see, I tried using shadow-cljs instead and it worked out of the box. Took me maybe 20 minutes to do what took 2 days with the other tools. It also connected to VSCode easily and has code completion, etc, which Emacs isn’t giving me.I’d rather use Emacs, but it may not be an option.