Getting started with ClojureScript, how robust is it?

Hello all,

This is my first post in the forum !

I am a long time JavaScript developer, and during the last 2-3 months I have discovered Clojure initially and then naturally ClojureScript. I really like the language , mainly for its pragmatic functional approach and due to the fact that it’s a LISP which I have previous experience with from my university times.

I’m interested in using ClojureScript for a full stack application (NodeJS and React) . Is the language suited for that according to your opinion?

One thing I’ve noticed is that a lot of libraries are not maintained anymore or their last update was years ago , is that something I should worry about ?

Also is there somewhere a complete list of recommended well maintained libraries to use for my purpose?

Thank you all in advance,
Sotiris.

1 Like

Hi Sotiris,

great to hear that you like Clojure(Script) and planning to build an app with it. I would say it is very robust. We are very happy with it, we are using it to build Storrito.com and Audiocado.com

I never used ClojureScript for the server side. But I would take a look at:

https://macchiato-framework.github.io/

On the client side I can recommend http://shadow-cljs.org/ as build tool, it is well integrated with npm / yarn. This template is a good starting point:

lein new shadow-cljs your-project +reagent

(https://github.com/shadow-cljs/lein-template)

Clojure and ClojureScript libs tends to stabilize after sometime, most often this is the reason why there are no more commits, while the lib is still maintained. In comparison to many other ecosystems, there are very few breaking changes in those libs and none in the language itself. Therefore you do not have to keep up with the latest versions all the time.

Best regards and happy coding,

Max

3 Likes