GNU Emacs + Cider vs VS Code + Calva

Hello

I am looking into whether to use GNU Emacs + Cider or VS Code + Calva for Clojure programming. Since I am neutral with regards to GNU Emacs vs VS Code it is unclear to me which editor+extension combination I should use.

Could I get a rundown of what the advantages/disadvantages of Cider and Calva are?

Thanks

2 Likes

Both combos are great. Emacs perhaps leads into more things than VS Code does in the long run, but that could just be me justifying why I’ve been using emacs for the last 24 years.

What have you used in the past and what do you want to do beyond just clojure?

1 Like

VSCode is much friendlier to beginners, uses a UX language that is more modern with more modern shortcuts, and it plays well with Windows.

If you’re someone who generally prefers say MacOS or Windows over Linux. You’ll probably be happier with CSCode and Calva.

Emacs is way more customizable and extensible, and has many features other editors lack. It excels at a keyboard only workflow (no need to use the mouse for anything). You can even easily add your own custom features to it. It’s feature set for Clojure editing is probably unmatched, but I’d say Calva is 90% there, and you probably won’t miss the difference. It can also be run from the command line fully without a UI if that’s something you care about.

If you’re someone who likes to thinker and customize everything. If you like to do things without a mouse. And if in general you prefer Linux over MacOS or Windows, you’ll probably like Emacs + Cider better.

Edit: Just wanted to add, Calva and Cider both use The Orchard as their underlying “backend”. The difference is mainly in their editor integration.

2 Likes

In the past I have used both GNU Emacs and VS Code, but nowadays I primarily use VS Code because for many languages(especially JavaScript!) it has better support for the language and ecosystem.