Help with software design: Cuncurrency, Parallelism, something else?

Hello everyone.

This is my first time building a fullstack clojure application and I’ve run into some issues and I’m not sure what’s the best/correct aproach to solve them.

I have four functions (f-1, f-2, f-3, f-4) , all of them have the same basic structure:

(defn f [foo bar]
  (let [db-info (get-db-info foo)]
    (loop [cond false]
      (if cond
        (do
          (update-db db-info)
          (transact-new-data-db m)) ; new data added to the db
        (Thread/sleep 3000))
      (recur (check-api-condition bar))))) 

Where the new data transacted in function f-n is looked up to in the function f-(n+1) in the “let” binding.

I’m using a loop because I constantly need to check the API of the service I’m using until certain conditions are meet, I’m guessing I could avoid these if there were weebhooks available but there aren’t any.

I currently have a do statement where the four functions are called in sequence. The thing is that ony one of them runs at any given time. So if f-3 takes 10 minutes to excute and exit the loop, then functions f-1 and f-2 are not doing anything even if they could.

So the question is: How can I make the program run all 4 functions simultaneously? Is this better suited for concurrency or parallelism?

houpefully this information is enough to give you guys a good enough picture of the issue, if not please let me know and I’ll add more detail.

Thanks everyone.

Yup, this is exactly the idea behind parallelism and concurrency.

In your case, since you only have four functions, an easy way is just to use future. Just wrap the calls to your functions in a future and they’ll now all be executing concurrently and possibly in parallel if you have a multi-core CPU.