Hi, I'm Patrick, and I modify state

This is my first post to the “State-Modifiers Anonymous” self-help group. I wish to overcome my bad habit of modifying state in an unsafe manner, and use something like Clojure instead as a remedy.

So my name is Patrick, I’m a developer and part-time teacher based in Switzerland. I started with Visual Basic, C#, Java, JavaScript, but later discovered Go, which was quite some relief, especially the great concurrency model. Professionally, I mostly program in Python (and some JavaScript and Go).

A bit more than a year ago, I had to migrate the servers of our company’s logging/monitoring stack, which uses Riemann. Since I also wanted to make the switch from Graphite to InfluxDB, I had to learn some Clojure in order to modify the configuration. For some reason, Russ Olsen’s “Getting Clojure” was already in my book shelf; this it how it started.

It then continued, and I worked through the entire book, which I also summarized (https://raw.githubusercontent.com/patrickbucher/learning-clojure/master/getting-clojure.pdf)

I meandered between Elixir and Clojure (both hosted languages) for a while, and learned the basics of both environments. However, learning some kind of Lisp is something I wanted to do for a long time, so it’s rather Clojure than Elixir at the moment.

So I hope to make some progress in the upcoming weeks and months, and hope that this community will be part of my journey.

10 Likes

Welcome! Hope you’ll like it here.

1 Like

One of the nice things about Clojure is that although it makes FP natural it’s not dogmatic about it. Sometimes you should modify state–even if you don’t have to. But, you know, that’s an advanced technique. :slight_smile:

1 Like