How can I include my utility functions available for import?

Hi,

I am new to Clojure. Currently trying to learn the language by reading books and trying to build a scraping tool using Clojure.

In the book ‘On Lisp’ Paul Graham advises a lisp programmer to keep some useful utility functions handy while working various projects. I was wondering how I can achieve this.

Thanks.

Excellent question.

Step 1: Create a utility library.
Step 2: Require it in your app.

Nothing sets a utility library apart from any other type of library. They’re all libraries.
Here is a list of utility libraries authored by experienced Clojurians:

Personally, I tend to separate them according to their dependencies. For example, utility functions that don’t require any dependency, that are pure Clojure, go into a general-purpose utility library with no dependencies. Functions that are more specific to a line of applications go into a separate library. For example, I have a small utility library devoted to ring applications, with a dependency on ring.
Here is a quick overview of how I organize things, but remember that there is a lot of leeway and utlimately it’s up to you.

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for the answer. I will check these out.

If I were to develop my own utility library how would I require it to my other projects? Do I have to upload it to clojars?

Can I do it without clojars using my local repo? Is there any way to require it without manually copying it to each and every project?

Have a look here: https://clojure.org/guides/deps_and_cli#_using_local_libraries

2 Likes

If you’re using Clojure CLI / deps.edn then this is very straightforward. You can add it as an alias to your projects.deps.edn, or even as a global alias in ~/.clojure/deps.edn. You can use :local/root to simply point at the directory with your project, or reference it by git coordinates. No need to push to Clojars.

{:aliases
 {:my-util
  {:extra-deps {foo/my-util {:local/root "/home/foo/my-util"}}}}}