How do you tie your specs to your Document DB usage?

When using a document database I am schemaless, meaning I no longer have an init.sql that I frequently consult to ensure I’m adding the right fields. One good answer, as mentioned by didibus, is to leverage Spec for this. So instead of definitions for each table in init.sql, I’ve built myself a cljc file which contains entries like this:

(ns centrifuge.crux-specs
  "Specs for Crux documents"
  (:require 
   [clojure.spec.alpha :as s]))

(s/def ::doctype #{"material"
		   "source"
		   "record"
		   "tsmatrix"
		   "user"})

(s/def :user/role #{"admin"
		    "editor"})

(s/def :centrifuge.record/v1
  (s/keys :req [:material/id
		:doctype/version
		:record/tokens
		:record/events
		:record/entities]
	  :req-un [::doctype]
	  :opt [:record/tags]))

I’m not a pro with spec. The height of my appreciation is the way re-frame allows specs to be automatically connected with front-end db transactions, failing if the spec check fails. Other than that, though, I’m not sure what best practices are from here: are my specs missing anything? What’s the most efficient way to make use of them?

1 Like

Here is my current attempt at this: I use (assert) to check if the map matches a spec before I add it to the database. Which spec it should match is composed by two keys expected to be in the map. What do you think? Is there a simpler way to accomplish this?

(s/def :centrifuge.user/v1
  (s/keys :req [:doctype/version
                :user/name
                :user/role
                :user/password]
          :req-un [::doctype]))

(defn construct-specname
  "Construct the name of the spec from the `:doctype` and `:doctype/version` of `m`,
  producing something like `:centrifuge.user/v1` which should match an existing spec"
  [m]
  (let [{t :doctype v :doctype/version} m]
    (keyword (str "centrifuge." t) (str "v" v))))

(defn crux-conforms?
  "Determine whether a map conforms as one of our maps"
  [m]