How to annotate that the parameter type of a function should be a map?

Hello Clojurists,
I am a beginner with Clojure and making my way through Higginbotham’s CftBT. Here is my newbie question. Suppose I have a function like this

(defn myfunc [input-map] (input-map :important-key))

how would I annotate that parameter input-map should be a map that contains a key :important-key?

If it is relevant to the answer, by “annotate” I mean some kind of code decoration so that I can automatically generate (from my code) HTML documentation that will tell the reader that the input-map parameter to myfunc is expected to be a map containing the key :important-key. For my purposes, if this annotation also helps with avoiding run-time bugs (such as a parameter of the wrong type being passed) that is a bonus. For my present purposes, I’m not worried about performance so much (avoiding reflection, etc.) as I am still just learning.

Thanks for your help.

Take a look at Clojure spec.

1 Like

Its a little verbose currently (there are some libs that help reduce the verbosity, and I think they are working on coming up with a less verbose syntax), but as borkdude said, you’d use spec as such:

(ns foo
  (:require [clojure.spec.alpha :as s])

(s/def ::important-key any?)

(s/fdef myfunc
  :args (s/cat :input-map (s/keys :req-un [::important-key]))
  :ret map?)

(defn myfunc [input-map]
  (input-map :important-key))

A less formal, and less verbose alternative way some people use, is:

• Just document in it the doc-string like so:
(defn myfunc
  "Does something.

`input-map` - a map with required keys `:important-key`
     `:important-key` - an id that bla bla"
  [input-map]
  • And something which is between the two in term of formality which people often use as well is destructuring:
(defn myfunc
  [{:keys [important-key]}]
  (input-map important-key))

All three method will appear in the doc when you call (doc myfunc).

1 Like

You could also use preconditions.