How to explain the difference between side effects and return value to a Clojure beginner?

In the context of my Get Programming with Clojure book, I’d like to explain to Clojure beginners the distinction between side effects and return value.

I came to create the following diagram:

I have some questions related to the diagram:

1. How should we call such a diagram?
  2. Is it something that is well known?
  3. Is it useful?
  4. How could we improve it?
1 Like

Hard to say without reading the text around this diagram, but if you really target beginners, you could add the words input, output and side effects to the arrows. It makes the diagram more self-contained and these words are generic enough to be easy to grok in my opinion. Also, I would use external input instead of external factors for the same reasons.

Cannot answer the other questions, I’m not a diagram expert.

Good luck!

3 Likes

I like the diagram, it looks useful. I might call it something like “calling pure functions versus calling side-effecting functions”

Whether it’s well-known depends on the audience—it’s certainly “new” in some sense to people used to imperative side-effect-driven development, and it’s certainly new to 100% beginners just getting into programming.

When I teach this concept I use “somewhere else” to highlight the contrast between side effects and return values. Usually I do this with two or three examples:

1. I call the fn with value x (or values x, y…), it gives me value y based on x, nothing else happens anywhere in the universe, everyone is happy
  2. I call the fn with value x, it gives me value y based on x, but it also changes something somewhere else (without telling me and which I have to “just know” about); sometimes this is necessary but take care with it
  3. I call the fn with value x, it gives me y based on x and some other stuff from somewhere else (which I have to “just know” about); sometimes this is necessary but take care with it