How to react to state changes in Reagent vs React?

I am trying to build a block-based richtext editor similar to Notion (with far less features of course) for a project. To get a feel for how it can be done, I adapted this tutorial to ClojureScript with Reagent: Link to GitHub Repo

Since I am still somewhat new to ClojureScript and Reagent (and also never did anything serious with React yet), I appreciate any feedback to improve my adaptation and make it more idiomatic to how Reagent works vs pure React (keep in mind that to keep things simple I do not want to concern myself with re-frame yet).

There is one question I am trying to answer:

In React, you often use a callback function in setState for things you need to do after a state change. As I understand, the callback is triggered after the re-render occurred due to the state change, which is why the author of the original tutorial was able to set the caret position.

Here, I have used reagent/after-render instead, which works, although the behaviour is not quite the same (which is why I had to put it after all state updates instead of just the one in tag-selection-handler as it was with the callback in the pure React code)

I could not find much documentation on reagent/after-render, despite its apparent usefulness. Is there a more idiomatic way to react to state changes in ratoms?

I also made some observations about the use of life-cycle methods in Reagent, maybe someone has alternative suggestions to my approaches here:

I have the impression that, because of ratoms, life-cycle methods have much less use in Reagent. For example, you can initialize internal state in the outer let-binding of form 2/3 components instead, so there is no need for :component-did-mount.

In :component-did-update, the previous state is not available in Reagent, since (please correct me, if I’m wrong) it doesn’t even use this.state.