I would like to access objects through point chaining like object-oriented or pure functional languages

Hi Hello ~
I would like to access objects through point chaining like object-oriented or pure functional languages.

It’s been about 13 years since I started studying Clojure, and it’s been about 5 years since I started using it in practice. It would be really nice to be like hylang… Is there (object or instance attributes dot chain) library related to this in clojure or clojurescript?

It’s always a bit disappointing, and I’m getting tired of using it these days. The linguistic function is the strongest, but when I look at the code I wrote later, I can’t easily figure out what I’ve done.

Thanks gooday~.

If I understood the question correctly, maybe one of these forms are what you’re looking for:

1 Like

check out the . and .. special forms
https://clojure.org/reference/java_interop#_the_dot_special_form

1 Like

Can you give an example of “access[ing] objects through point chaining like […] pure functional languages”? I’m not sure what you mean by that so I’m not sure what to suggest by way of an answer…

functional monad. Chaining is an exception, that’s another matter to mention.
However

in OOP
instanceName.member
member (attribute variables, method)
(instance.var 3)
(instance.method [1 2 3])
simple approach

return instance and repeat so on.
(instance.method.method.method.method 1 2)

like other languages. A simple approach,
at the moment of execution
I wish there was such a tool that unfolds internally in the form of clojure parentheses.

Currently, the approaches of clojure oop members are too diverse. I understand that you’ve taken it this way to make sure the problem is solved, but I think it leaves room for a bit of obscurity in the code, as mentioned at the outset.

(. Class method .-member these types)
(doto~
(.Class member ~
(member Class
etc

I just wanted to avoid these things.