Idiomatic empty?

Hello,
I’ve seen that it is not idiomatic to use the empty? predicate and better use seq but I’d like to understand why. For me, it is much more clear (easy to understand) to read something like :

(when-not (empty? x) ...)

…than…

(when (seq x) ...)

First one reads like plain english, where the second one doesn’t and needs a tiny little bit more of knowledge about the seq function. This is for me also strange that the docstring of the empty? function recommends … to not use the empty? function and prefer seq instead. Is it to save one function call ? … Then why not recomend to use (not (even? ..)) instead of odd?.

As a beginner I put a lot of effort in trying to write clean and understandable code with Clojure, and the case of the empty? function stays like a ‘grain of sand’ I’d like to get rid of.

Hopefully someone here will be able to help clarify.

Thanks

2 Likes

I assume the encouragement to use seq over empty? is from efficiency

The source code of empty? calls seq on the collection and inverts the boolean result

(not (seq coll)))

There seems to be an expectation that the Clojure developer would understand seq function and choose that as the preferred approach.

Personally I find empty? more readable and one less thing to parse.

If the code path that uses empty? is a performance bottleneck then is a small optimisation to make.

This is probably a minority view though

4 Likes

First one reads like plain english

Clojure doesn’t try to make source code readable like prose. I would definitely recommend against skewing towards “reads like plain English” approaches, lest you end up with Python’s 1 if True else 2. :slight_smile:

Is it to save one function call ?

It’s to avoid an extra not. (empty? x) is (not (seq x)), so (not (empty? x)) is (not (not (seq x))).
(not (even? ...)) is already what odd? itself does.

I put a lot of effort in trying to write clean and understandable code with Clojure