Is Clojure a good pick for me?

I’m a Go developer looking to be more productive. Go is really good, I really like the language, but the productivity is not that great. I’m looking for something better. I know a little of Elixir too and to be honest, Elixir almost checks all the boxes for me. But there is something that pulls me to Clojure :sweat_smile: I can’t explain.

Elixir:
+++ Supervisors
+ Erlang/BEAM integration
+ Immutable
+ Best async development in any language in my opinion
+ Predictable performance / preemptive scheduling
- Web development is mostly based on Phoenix and tied to frameworks, I do prefer libraries
- No CLI support
- "Slow"
- No JS compilation / WASM support

Clojure:
+ Lisp
+ JVM
++ Focus on libraries
- JVM
- Can mutate state
- Exceptions
- Syntax seems cryptic

Mostly what I do is backend development exposing JSON web services. But from time to time I would like to do CLIs too, which it’s possible with Clojure using GraalVM, right?

Sometimes I need to do the frontend as well. Today I would use things like NextJS but I’m not a big fan of Javascript and I think I’m able to do the same using Clojurescript, right?

The fact that Clojure has exceptions is almost a deal-breaker for me, I really freaking hate exceptions but I would like to hear from you guys.

So, what you guys have to say to me? I know that this is a bias place to get an opinion between Elixir or Clojure, but I want your sincere opinion.

And still at the Clojure part, what are the best books I can get? Development in general + web development. (It can be more than one, no problem with that).

Ahh forgot to say that I’m not a functional programmer, I do understand the things but never had done anything meaningful with it.

I love that you have “JVM” under both the + and the -! :slight_smile: