Is everything a value?

Dear Clojure forum members,

I’m new to Clojure and functional programing and I’d like to kindly ask you one basic question that I’m unable to find an answer to (I searched a lot…).

Is every single thing in Clojure a value?

Based on my understanding:

• Function is a value
  • List is a value and every element in a list is a value
  • Map is a value
  • Key in a map might be for example a string or a keyword and therefore the key itself is a value

From terminology perspective:

If I have a polymorphic function with a single argument, that does something generic (print it), I can name that argument “value” or “val”.
For example in different languages I would call it “input” since it might take both objects and primitives / value types and reference types and therefore “value” would be wrong name for such argument.

Thank you.

Dan

1 Like

Atoms and refs hold states, they are like references, but wrapped in dynamic types. Also Clojure may hold objects from host platform, some of them are references such as Java Objects.

I’d probably run with x, or thing, out some such.

1 Like

Thank you.

input for generic argument name sounds better in my opinion ;-). Thank you.

From the type sense, there are distinctions between primitive values and references. From the semantics sense, most clojure types are references (except for the typical host platform’s primitive unboxed types), and that includes the persistent collections and literals you mentioned. These clojure types have an immutable “value” semantic that means they obey structural equality (via clojure.core/=) and they never change (are immutable). So from a comparison perspective, despite being implemented by underlying reference types (or boxed types), they have immutable value semantics from a functional programming perspective.