Isn't Clojure overkill for small web apps?

Hi folks, May I ask for your opinion and advice, please?

Is Clojure a reasonable choice for simple web apps? I am talking about hobby projects, mostly CRUD stuff, dozens of users. Things like a simple booking system for a local gym, etc., not expecting millions of concurrent requests :slight_smile:

I am also not a professional developer, so I need something that can handle ā€œstupidā€ hacky junior code. Some advanced Clojure concepts are beyond my (current) skills. The reason Iā€™m drawn to Clojure is that I find lisp style and syntax actually very friendly, natural and elegantā€¦

I know frameworks are not very popular in Clojureverse, but would you recommend some that have solid userbase, good documentation, and maybe some similarities with e.g. Phoenix? And have beginner-friendly tooling, including much-hated code generators maybe? Itā€™s a bit difficult to figure out whatā€™s what in Clojure.

Thank you!

4 Likes

The only two ā€œframeworksā€ Iā€™m aware of for Clojure are Coast and Luminus and even the latter is really just a project template that composes several libraries.

Luminus is more popular, by far, than Coast, but I donā€™t consider Luminus to be beginner-friendly. I donā€™t know much about Coast but my understanding is that itā€™s written by a Rubyist who wanted something Rails-like in Clojure.

The reality is that people just donā€™t use frameworks in Clojure and, for the most part, they donā€™t build ā€œmostly CRUD stuffā€ with Clojure ā€“ so thatā€™s a bit of a bare spot that beginners really notice when they come from other languages that either focus on or at least heavily support ā€œmostly CRUD stuffā€.

What Rails and Phoenix etc offer has no parallel in Clojure. See this massive ClojureVerse thread about what beginners struggle with and youā€™ll see quite a few posts about the lack of easy web app stuff.