Need advice - better documentation and guidance in clj-fast

I have been working on clj-fast for around two years now. What started as an exploration congealed into a collection of tools and heuristics for Clojure code speedups under certain conditions.

A fair criticism I have received is that the use cases for the library and guidance around it could be clearer. I have made an attempt to rewrite significant portions of the README but frankly, I don’t like the result, so I thought I’d come to you for aid :slight_smile:

How should the new documentation look like? Thinking of criteria like structure, use cases, guidance, cautions. Are there any criteria I neglected?

Generally, the library has a few use cases I can think of:

• reference material on PGO and benchmarking in Clojure
  • reference for specific optimizations possible in Clojure
  • for library authors: deliver good performance while hiding the “ick” implementation details
  • application developers: not a drop-in replacement, but sometimes performance has to be improved and they don’t have to sacrifice most Clojure idioms or drop down to Java.

It’s a pretty low level library and I don’t expect it to, or think it should, gain wide-range adoption, but I would like it to be accessible to those who need it, when they need it, and that the tradeoffs be clear.

Looking forward to your comments

4 Likes

My guess is that you’re getting that comment from people who don’t have an optimization problem, but instead who might be more junior or less knowledgeable about trade offs and performance in general, who have a bit of self doubt or OCD about having things be as fast as it can even if not necessarily because they’ve found it that their program is too slow.

So I’m guessing people who don’t already have a written piece of code, but instead people who are writing one might be mistaking your lib as more of: core functions are slow, use this lib instead.