Next.jdbc -- early access

I’m finally at a place where I feel comfortable showing an early working draft of next.jdbc to the world: https://github.com/seancorfield/next-jdbc/blob/master/src/next/jdbc.clj – although it is not API-compatible with clojure.java.jdbc, it is almost at feature parity at this point.

Feedback here, or via issues is all fine. The code is substantially shorter and simpler than clojure.java.jdbc and the performance is substantially better.

15 Likes

I’m new to datafy (I guess everyone is), I’m not quite sure what you mean by https://github.com/seancorfield/next-jdbc/blob/master/src/next/jdbc.clj#L15-L17

Could you explain a little more about the navigation feature? Or is there an example?

Congratulation, looks so much better now! Few quick wins for perf, would be happy to do a PR of those. About the api, could the with-transaction be just a function? Or a new functional with-transaction-fn? Usually adding a functional version into the projects.

(j/with-transaction 
  db
  (fn [db] ...))

This blog post (from the time of last year’s Conj) gives more background on lazy navigation through result sets: http://corfield.org/blog/2018/12/03/datafy-nav/

The easiest way to see it in action is to use Cognitect’s REBL (linked from that blog post) with next.jdbc and point it at your favorite database and run execute! on a select that pulls in rows that have foreign key columns that match either <table>id or <table>_id and see it automatically navigate into those tables when you drill down into those columns.

Hope that helps?

1 Like
(p/-transact db (fn [db] ...) opts)

That could be used directly since -transact is a public protocol. with-transaction is just sugar over that.

Nice, could the p/-transact be exposed as transact in the main ns too?

3 Likes

Looks real nice.