Question about Clojure development setup

Most of my development set up is with docker and docker compose and I see some advantages in containerized development set up.

Recently when I started playing around with Clojure, I started by developing the apps on my laptop and not in a container. And now I am planning to write a production app with Clojure and am wondering if I should containerize the development setup or keep developing on the host machine.

How does most people here develop their Clojure apps, do they use containers or do they develop on their host machines. Are there any pluses and minuses for both of these approaches from a Clojure development perspective ?

Thank you in advance :smiley:

Historically for the JVM docker is less important.
The JVM and its classpath concept + maven put Java historically in a good position regarding the creation of identical development environment without Docker, at least regarding the JVM as such. IDEs is an other story.

Clojure has inherited this.

The moment you go polyglot, the situation changes, and something like this could become useful:

I use Docker to run databases, search engines, and all the external infrastructure that my apps need, but for the app itself – for the REPL that runs the app – I start that directly on my machine in a terminal and I connect my editor to that running locally.

I run a separate REPL for each of my projects, and leave them running for days (or weeks), and each of them is completely self-contained, with their own classpaths, so I don’t see any value in containerization around that.

2 Likes

Clojure is my first JVM language, and I was also wondering how it is done among java projects. Thanks for pointing it out.

I think am gonna do exactly this, run Clojure on host and some other dependencies on containers, thanks for sharing !

I do it exactly like @seancorfield, infrastructure in docker, but JVM / REPL stuff outside of docker.

1 Like