Shadow-cljs and leinigen and NPM oh my!

I’ve decided I want to really focus on this stack in my career going forward for several reasons. Particularly of interest is clojurescript, the notion of reagent as a client-side runtime is one of the most exciting and novel programming concepts I’ve worked with in years!

Enough about background though! I’m an old vim hacker who prefers to use “fireplace” as the IDE and hence lein as my automation tool.

Currently I am studying a model project from shadow-cljs and reagent. This means I have a “shadow-cljs.edn” file and, as I understand it, NPM commands are used for automation.

But I want to use vim-fireplace, or at least cursive, which both work with leinigen as a build-automation tool. So my goal is to make my shadow-cljs project fully built/executed vi lein

My project is small with, say ./src/pete/core.cljs as the source.

I’m writing this question because I cannot seem to find a de-facto “make leinigen work with shadow” example for beginners like myself. At the moment I’m trying to cobble together notes from both sites of documentation, but with not-so-successful results.

When I execute len run I get the error: ‘cant find pete.core as a class or clj for lein run’
This is the current error but there may be additional things wrong in my setup.

My shadow-cljs.edn

{
 :lein true
 :nrepl        {:port 3333}
 :builds {
   :app {:target :browser
        :output-dir "public/js"
        :asset-path "/js"

:modules
        {:main
         {:entries [pete.core]}}

:devtools
        {:after-load  pete.core/main
         :http-root   "public"
         :http-port   3000}}}}

My project.clj

(defproject pete "0.1.0-SNAPSHOT"
  :description "FIXME: write description"
  :url "https://example.com/FIXME"
  :license {:name "Eclipse Public License"
            :url "https://www.eclipse.org/legal/epl-v10.html"}
 :dependencies [[binaryage/devtools "0.9.10"]
                [proto-repl "0.3.1"]
                [reagent "0.8.0"]