SystemD startup file for Clojure deployment

Due to the deprecation of Immutant I can’t easily build Wildfly-compatible war files. I’m abandoning use of Wildfly and plan to begin deploying jars that are run with java -jar. I’m not an expert yet at writing .service files. Does anyone have any examples I could draw on for systemd files to manage system start, stop, and restart of these applications?

[Unit]
Description=The Server
After=network.target
StartLimitIntervalSec=0

[Service]
User=the-server
Group=the-server
ExecStart=/usr/bin/java -Xms512m -Xmx512m -server -cp /path/to/the-server.jar clojure.main -m the-server.server 8090
Restart=always
RestartSec=1

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

Always set the heap size with -Xms and -Xmx, and they should be equal. The StartLimitInterval, Restart, and RestartSec options are explained in this article. They make sure the program restarts if it crashes or gets killed.

Remember to always run systemctl daemon-reload when you add or change a service file. Then just administrate via systemctl (start|stop|restart) the-server.

It might be worth looking into docs for the Type option as well.

4 Likes

Something interesting to dig deeper is the Type=notify option. If you have an APP/API with some /health-check endpoint being monitored by other services like Nagios you can communicate through sd_notify() with the system process of your APP and restart or stop the service.

2 Likes

That notify option sound fascinating. I want to learn more!

You’ll find lots of great examples of Systemd service files on your computer. Three tips: (1) read the systemd manual, (2) think upfront about the Type, because it is crucial to deciding how you’ll make your program start and stop, (3) don’t feel boxed-in to invoking the “java -jar…” right there in the service file. You’ll have more flexibility if the service unit designates shell scripts to start and stop your program.

Might want to add

SuccessExitStatus=143

to the [Service] section.