Understanding jack-in in Calva

(I accidentally deleted my original post - posting again)

I’m using Cursive for the moment but would like to try out Calva. I’m just getting started but I am not grasping how the jack-in REPL is supposed to work. I have a Leiningen project that includes an nREPL running on port 3000. I also use nREPL in production because I have a legacy application running in PHP that queries the Clojure app through the nREPL.

When I open IntelliJ/Cursive, this my workflow

1. Run lein run on the terminal
  2. Run shadow-cljs watch app on the terminal
  3. Open an nREPL window in IntelliJ that connects to port 3000
  4. Open another nREPL that connects to the port file specified by shadow-cljs.

Would I use the same workflow in Calva? In Calva it his highly recommended to use jack-in instead of connecting to a running REPL. I’m not sure I grasp the difference? I would be extremely grateful for an explanation. :slight_smile:

1 Like

jack-in will just start an nRepl for you.

The only reason it is recommended, is that Calva needs some additional nRepl middlewares to be injected as dependencies when you start your nRepl for all the features to work, jack-in will do that for you automatically.

If you start the nRepl yourself, you’ll need to make sure you do so with the correct added dependencies for Calva to work fully.

1 Like

Thanks @didibus. So on this case I need to have a nREPL server running on port 3000 so my PHP application can communicate with my app. But I guess that I could also jack-in to another nREPL in Calva? How would I do that? If I just type lein run to start my app, then it will just be my “normal” nREPL running.

Hi there!

Jack-in is a bit of an unfortunate name… :grinning: . Basically there are two options:

1. You start the REPL, and you connect to that REPL. What @didibus said applies: Here you are responsible for meeting Calva’s dependencies requirements.