Updating database migrations with data

I’ve been using Migratus for my database migrations for a few years, and have been happy with it. My database files are divided into “init.sql” and various “populate*.sql” types. The problem I run into with live (though only max of 100 inserts per week) databases, though, is that as this project proceeds I find I need to change one of the schemas defined in init.sql, and this may in turn break some of the populate sql files. Now, the manual process is as follows:

1. Take a dump of the live database tables and replace the “populate” files with the new dumps of those respective tables.
  2. Implement my changes, massaging the data into correct form to respect those changes
  3. Perform the repaired migration on the live database (hoping, fairly reasonably in this particular case, that nothing new has been added since I took the dump).

Obviously this is a messy, tedious process and there is plenty of room for error. It also seems like something that should be a solved problem. What are your solutions for the scenario of updating your migrations with respect to additional data? And, ultimately, is there a solution that automates this update process?

Edit: looking at the docs for migratus, I get the feeling I might have misunderstood your question. In that case, I apologize.

I usually prefer to treat database migrations as immutable, i.e. when I need to make a change in the database schema, I create a new migration file that applies the schema changes as well as massaging existing data into the new format.

That way the initial database population code is also immutable and can be run on a new database, and migrating the database will update the shape of the data as well.

I have not used migratus, so I am not certain how my response fits into your mental model of migrations. My guess is it should be reasonably close to ActiveRecord migrations.

1 Like