What about common lisp

Hi there,

Clojure is my number one productivity tool, I did my thesis work with it, I make money with it, I make scripts with it (thank you babashka). I love the langage and its philosophy.

But, once in a while, I try to learn a new language. In fact this is how I met Clojure, when I was a little scala-sold college student. And I was wondering about learning Common Lisp (CL).

AFAIK, Clojure has strong roots in CL. I guess there is many lispers in the Clojure rear guard. Many of you may have interesting insights about the two langages.

I saw the talk of Alan Dipert Common Lisp for the curious clojurist where he pinpoints the fact that Clojure’s killing feature is the consistent philosophy that Rich Hickey put in the langage. This brings idioms that make working together in Clojure easier. Such idioms does not exists in CL, so you have more room for doing stuff the way you want, which is a feature but also a sort of community tragedy.

What are your opinions about common lisp ?
Would you consider it for doing real work, as a hobbyist ?
Do you think it has major pitfalls that would make Clojure a best fit for you ?
Do you already use CL from time to time for specific tasks ?
Will I feel disappointed and clojure-nostalgic after using it for a while ?

Thank you very much for your time.

3 Likes

I did the reverse route, went from Common Lisp to Clojure. Common Lisp is a great language, totally worth learning. A lot of features are very sophisticated: CLOS, exception system, etc.

Is very different from Clojure, bigger, very different design choices, so is an interesting language to study. But it will be familiar enough coming from Clojure.

On the plus side, I miss the performance of SBCL (the implementation I used)

On the other side, I moved to Clojure mainly because Java libraries. You will miss massive Java community libraries.

My recommendation: do it!

3 Likes