What do beginners love about clojure

This is like a reverse of the topic “What do beginners struggle with?”. As beginners, let’s share what made us really get interested in Clojure.
So i have been learning Clojure for a few months now, before that I had tried learning python but no matter how i tried i just couldn’t understand the concept of classes and OOP.
Anyway, a couple of things that really made me get into Clojure (FP in general), i would say are

1. Recursion, After reading the book Clojure for the brave and true, I’d say my understanding of recursion has increased.
  2. The Clojure community, as a beginner the openness and friendliness of the community has been pretty awesome.
7 Likes

Fully agree on this. :slight_smile:

For me, the Lisp syntax is a relief from worrying about things like operator precedence. The language also feels very elegant.
The other things that got me interested in learning Clojure were macros: the idea of meta-programming seems (intuitively) to be very powerful, though I haven’t gotten there yet.

I’m still learning, and am very much a beginner, so my views will probably evolve along the way.

4 Likes

For me the nicest thing is the limited scope I have to keep in my head when looking at a piece of code. You have a function. It takes some arguments. The arguments are (most often) just data. You don’t need to worry about methods, lifetimes, etc, just what you want to do to that data.

6 Likes

The parens! I really like them and looking at LISP code sparks joy. Everything else like immutability and functional programming just makes sense to me and are nice to have too. :upside_down_face:

4 Likes
  1. The Clojure community, as a beginner the openness and friendliness of the community has been pretty awesome.