What is the current best way to start a new clojurescript project?

Hello Clojureverse! I’m wondering what the current best way is to start a new cljs project that uses reagent. Imagine someone coming from non-clojure world who’s used to running some-cli new project then some-cli dev and getting started right away with app development, no faffing with config/build tools etc.

What’s the closest we have to that right now for a new reagent app?

For context, I’ve been working with Clojure for the past ~2 years, but almost all JVM Clojure and want try making some little web apps with cljs and my front-end experience is all with batteries-included clis (for React and Angular) and I was wondering if there’s anything similar for cljs. Manually editing config files makes me hate programming. I’m comfortable editing json/edn and have done it for work before, but I would love my life more if I didn’t have to. So: is there some way I can just run a command to build a skeleton reagent app to start customizing in 1 minute?

2 Likes

Hi,
this worked pretty well for me: “lein new luminus my_project +reagent”

It’ll give you a nice directory structure and include necessary dependencies for both backend and frontend. Importantly, it will give you an ajax.cljs file that you can use to interact with backend from frontend. Perhaps you’d like to separate backend and frontend. I haven’t, but seeing what that command generates gives me clear ideas on how I can separate them.

If you use this command, running app at dev time with “lein figwheel” may not completely work. You will need to run both “lein run” and “lein figwheel” in separate terminals. Your run will listen on port 3000 and figwheel on 3449. I did not have any other problems.

Hope this helps

1 Like

and, yes, seems like I forgot to mention… you can also just run:
lein new reagent-figwheel my-project

but this includes less scaffolding