What is the difference between figwheel-main and figwheel-sidecar

Hello,

I’m pretty new to Clojure and ClojureScript, while exploring ClojureScript I discovered figwheel an excellent tool in my novice opinion. When I create a project with leiningen I have the option to create two different templates as follow:

lein new figwheel hello-world

lein new figwheel-main hello-world

this creates two different project.clj one with sidecar and the other with main.

Also as I’m using Nvim I need to piggyback to either main or sidecar repl.

At first look they seem to do the same thing, thus my questions what is the difference between the two?

Thanks

2 Likes

I think figwheel-main is a rewrite of the original figwheel. Not sure why both projects exist, but it’s probably because it wasn’t possible to migrate the old API without introducing breaking changes (breaking changes are a big nono in Clojure land). Just use figwheel-main - or perhaps consider shadow-cljs which I switched to myself at the beginning of the year.

What are the big differences between shadowcljs and figwheel? (that question should still being the domain of this thread). I’ve used shadowcljs lightly, and am by no means a power-user of figwheel, but they seemed about the same to me.

Me too. So far the only difference I’ve found is figwheel being a leningen plugin vs. shadow-cljs being an npm package and a newer project… but nothing about how to choose one over the other

Shadowcljs is a build tool for ClojureScript. Figwheel-main is a way to add REPL reloading to the browser.

Shadowcljs happens to have its own browser reload mechanisms built in, so no need for anything else like Figwheel-main.

The thing is, for any browser reload tool to work, it needs to have a way to rebuild, because you can only reload JavaScript inside the browser, not ClojureScript.