What is the idiomatic way to process data through a number of functions, checking for errors after each function?

I’m new to Clojure. My background is mostly Python. In Python, it’s common to write code like:

data = some_data_generator()

processed_data = process_data_1(data)
if processed_data['error']:
  return {'error': True, 'msg': 'Error msg'}

processed_data = process_data_2(processed_data['data'])
if processed_data['error']:
  return {'error': True, 'msg': 'Error msg'}

# And so on for however many processing functions there are.

As per my current understanding, I can do something similar with Clojure:

(-> data
     process_data_1
     process_data_2
     ; more process data functions)

However, I don’t know of a good way to check for error’s b/w each of these invocations. I can also think of using let bindings:

(let [data (process_data_1 data)]
    (if (:error data)
        {:error true :msg "Error msg"}
        (let [data (process_data_2 data)]
            (if (:error data)
                {:error true :msg "Error msg"}
                data))))

But this get’s unwieldy soon. Is there a better way of expressing operations like this? Essentially, checking for an error b/w each processing step and stoping executing if an error is encountered?

some-> or some->> might do the trick, if you can make your functions return nil to represent needing an early return.

https://clojure.org/guides/threading_macros
https://clojure.github.io/clojure/clojure.core-api.html#clojure.core/some->

If one of the threading macros doesn’t do the trick, you might try an either monad. Dan McKinley wrote a bit about the same frustration here:

Search for “Nesting Sucks”.

1 Like