Injecting global debug macros in nrepl with deps.edn

I’m just getting started with clojure and found these two awesome debugging libraries:

I would like to effectively have available everywhere the following requires:

(require '[debux.core :refer [dbg]]
         '[sc.api :refer [spy]]
         '[sc.nrepl.repl :refer [in-ep exit] :rename {exit out-ep}])

I see with lein it’s possible with :injections like here. I found

these two posts where people get effectively the same set up with deps.edn, with clojure’s basic repl. I’m using conjure on vim which uses nrepl. Nrepl’s documentation explains how to do this with leiningen (:init key in :repl-options in project.clj), but I can’t figure how to set this up without lein (I’m on an old computer where clj starts much faster than lein). Anyone know how to set this up? Or just general tips or tools for debugging clojure are also welcome :slight_smile:

One option is you can put the requires in your user namespace, which is loaded when the repl is started and store the referred vars in vars in the user namespace.

(ns user
  (require [debux.core :as debux])

(def dbg debug/dbg)
(ns some-other.ns)

user/dbg ;; refers to debug.core/dbg

There may be other (better?) ways to do this as well, but this works.

Or just general tips or tools for debugging clojure are also welcome

I like to use inline defs when debugging, as you can easily save values from the running code for experimentation at your leisure in the repl. Using inline defs with the same name as local bindings can be very helpful. See more info here: Inline def: an effective* debugging technique for Clojure.

thanks! I didn’t know about user.clj. For convenience I’d like to not have to make a separate dev/user.clj with that in every project but just have it present anytime I run nrepl. I found these instructions: How are `user.clj` files loaded? - #3 by jlesquembre
and made it work by putting in ~/.clojure/deps.edn:

{:aliases ;; Add cross-project aliases here